| Writing dance reviews and papers | Writing dance reviews and papers, cont'd |
| Digital craftsmanship; Copyright resources | Dance criticism - Style / citation guides and other help - Citation tools |
| Copyright resources from a music standpoint |
 |
Writing About Dance (ebook, Human Kinetics, 2010) guides students through the various processes of writing about dance, from the informal (journal writing and free writing) to the formal (critiques, essays and research papers). A print copy of this | ||||||||||
| book is available in the main stacks by call number GV1594 O45 2010. Details | |||||||||||
 |
History of Dance: an Interactive Arts Approach (Human Kinetics, 2007). This excellent book has some unexpected bonuses for the dance writer: Appendix A is "How to Write Your |
||||||||||
|
Research Paper;" Appendix D is "Dance Reconstruction or Re-Creation Project," and Appendix E, "Report of a Live or Videotaped Performance." Located in the main stacks, [Quarto] GV1601 K37 2007. Preview [Note: the 2nd edition, 2017, presents a fine history of dance but lacks these how-to elements.]
|
|||||||||||
|
|||||||||||
 |
Undergraduate research in dance : a guide for students (ebook, Routledge, 2019; 2025 2nd ed. due approx. July 15) supplies tools for scaffolding research skills, alongside examples of undergraduate research in dance scholarship. Looking at dance as an embodied art form with | ||||||||||
| physical, cognitive, and affective domains, this work views dance as an integral part of society, history, and interdisciplinary studies, with the aim of moving the field of dance research forward. 1. Overview -- 2. Literature reviews -- 3. Choosing topics and formulating appropriate research questions or project goals -- 4. Working with human subjects -- 5. Collecting data -- 6. Analyzing and synthesizing data -- 7. Arts-based research in dance -- 8. Citing sources -- 9. Dissemination of results -- 10. Dance/movement therapy -- 11. Interdisciplinary projects -- 12. Public scholarship and dance -- 13. Choreography as original research -- 14. Cultural studies in dance -- 15. Discovery of knowledge in dance history -- 16. Dance science -- 17. Psychological and cognitive aspects of dance -- 18. Application and activation: Choreography interacting with digital media -- 19. Dance education -- 20. Online resources. | |||||||||||
 |
The Bloomsbury companion to dance studies (ebook, Bloomsbury Academic, 2019) brings together leading international dance scholars in this single collection to provide a vivid picture of the state of contemporary dance research. | ||||||||||
| The book begins with an introduction that depicts dancing as both a site of knowledge formation and a methodological approach, followed by an overview of the methods and problems that dance studies currently faces as an established disciplinary field. The volume contains eleven core chapters that each map out a specific area of inquiry. Although these sub-disciplinary domains do not fully capture the dynamic ways in which dance scholars work across multiple positions and perspectives, they reflect the major interests and innovations around which dance studies has organized its teaching and research. | |||||||||||
|
1. Introduction -- 2. Research Methods and Problems -- Current Research and Issues -- 3. Dance Pedagogy -- 4. Practice-as-Research -- 5. Dance and Politics -- 6. Dance and Identity -- 7. Dance Science -- 8. Screendance Harmony Bench -- 9. Dance Ethnography -- 10. Popular Dance -- 11. Dance History -- 12. Dance and Philosophy -- 13. Digital Dance -- 14. New Directions -- 15. Annotated Bibliography -- 16. A to Z of Key Concepts in Dance Studies. |
|||||||||||
 |
Researching Dance: Evolving Modes of Inquiry (ebook, University of Pittsburgh Press, 1999). Directed toward graduate or honors students, this work introduces readers to research methods in dance. Part I examines and defines the discipline |
||||||||||
| of dance. Parts 2 and 3 present essays by other dance scholars on qualitative and quantitative inquiry and the most common approaches for researching dance. The research process is examined in detail, in cluding philosophy and aesthetics, historical scholarship, movement analysis, sex, gender and cultural diversity issues, and resources available to students (in this sense the book will be incomplete, having been published in 1999). Study questions, research exercises, and suggested readings are included. Also available in print, GV1589 R47 1999. For an example, see Chapter 3, "Theory-making and the Creation of New Knowledge." | |||||||||||
Some selected resources are below.
TCU Center for Digital Expression - TCU's CfDE provides information and guidance for the use of many different types of materials, for students, faculty and staff, geared to a variety of academic assignments and professional purposes. Its copyright-related page, additionally, offers links and tools such as the Fair Use Evaluator.
On the Student Resources page, you can scroll down to Audio / Video / Images / Document design / Presentation design – for example, under Images: Tips and Tools is "Copyright Fair Use and How it Works for Online Images."
Other copyright-related resources
The Art of Dance Composition: Writing the Body / Routledge, 2024 has a lengthy chapter on intellectual property, notably on the use of music in dance, but extends beyond that to include aspects such as movement, e.g. What is not dance? and Intellectual property.
Commercial Dance : the Essential Guide / Routledge, 2024, Chapters discussing copyright law.
Transmission in Motion : the Technologizing of Dance / Routledge, 2016 - chapter, Digital Dance : The Challenges for Traditional Copyright Law
Best Practices in Fair Use of Dance-related materials / Dance Heritage Coalition, 2009 (via the Center for Media and Social Impact)
Copyright Primer for the Dance Community / Dance Heritage Coalition, 2003
What are the copyright guidelines for music, video and other multimedia items? / TCU Library "LibAnswers" FAQ (links to online guides)
 |
Dance History: an Introduction (Routledge, 1994). Chapter 15, entitled Writing Dance History, is by June Layson. Other chapters by Layson include Historical Perspectives in the Study of Dance and Dance |
||
| History Source Materials (which includes evaluation thereof. Located in the main stacks, GV1589 D38 1994. Preview | |||
 |
Rethinking Dance History: Issues and Methodologies (ebook, Routledge, 2018). Though not a concise how-to, this excellent volume illustrates the issues in producing dance histories and gives real-world examples. Part 1: Why Dance History? Part 2: Researching and Writing. | ||
A "Subject heading" search for "dance criticism" leads to a number of works on the technique of dance criticism. Some examples are below.
 |
Writing Dancing in the Age of Postmodernism (ebook, Wesleyan University Press, 1994) analyzes the process of dance criticism, exploring its modes, methods and underlying assumptions, and examines the work of selected critics. Contents |
|
| include a section on writing dance criticism and history. Also available in print, GV1723 B36 1994. | ||
 |
Critical Gestures: Writings on Dance and Culture (Wesleyan University Press, 2002) includes chapters titled Looking Underneath the Itch to Criticize; Writing about Dance: An Urgent, High-Profile Opportunity; The Interested Act of Dance |
|
| Criticism; Writing Dance and many intriguing writing samples. Located in the main stacks, GV1783 D35 2002. Preview | ||
 |
Writing Dancing Together (ebook, Palgrave Macmillan, 2009) guides the dance writer/researcher toward in-depth thought and analytical writing. |
|
 |
Moving History / Dancing Cultures (ebook, Wesleyan University Press, 2001) includes chapters titled The Pleasures of Studying Dance History; Beyond Description: Writing Beneath the |
|
| Surface (Deborah Jowitt); Imagining Dance; Five Premises for a Culturally Sensitive Approach to Dance, and much, much more. Preview | ||
Citation and style
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing - searchable online - link: citation examples (the left column scrolls)
Owl Online at Purdue University offers A very handy online MLA Formatting and Style Guide.
Other style guides, plus citation tools, available from the Databases page (faq)
This handy tool from Calvin College, Michigan lets you select one of three style manuals (including MLA), select the type of resource (book, encyclopedia, etc.), and type the details into boxes, after which it produces the finished citation for you.
Searching, evaluating sources, writing (general)
What Is Digital Literacy? / Understanding Filters and Algorithms, Bots, and Visual Manipulation / Understanding Online Searches / Conducting Online Research / Go to the (Primary) Source! / Surveying the Conversation by Reading Laterally / Exploring the Credibility of Sources / Working with Your Sources / Additional Strategies and Resources / Customizing Your Online Experience / Appendix: Sample Lesson Plans
TCU FAQ: What are scholarly, peer-reviewed articles?
A Writer's Reference - now in 10th ed. e-book (description)
The Bedford/St. Martins book, 2011, covers important basic writing and researching procedures in chapters titled Composing and revising; Academic writing; Sentence style; Word choice; Grammatical sentences; ESL challenges; Punctuation; Mechanics; Researching; MLA, APA/CMS [style]; Basic grammar. Located in the Reference stacks by call number PE 1408 H2778.
--------------
The TCU Writing Center provides personal coaching on the entire process of writing a paper, from focusing your initial ideas to properly formatting a footnote. Its main office is located in Reed Hall, room 419. Online help is available through the Writing Center's website.
The TCU Library offers a number of tools for compiling and editing citations you compile for possible use in papers or other projects. A library guide to several tools is at libguides.tcu.edu/CitationTools. Refworks ind EndNote are featured, with link-outs to more how-tos. Both citation apps can be chosen from the alphabetical lists on the Databases page - the Databases tab is on the library's home page at library.tcu.edu.
Unlocking the Digital Age : The Musician’s Guide to Research, Copyright, and Publishing / DeLaurenti, Kathleen, et al., Johns Hopkins, Peabody Institute, 2024; available online. Research foundations: What is research? / Kathleen DeLaurenti ; Understanding how information is made ; Archiving and organizing information ; Preparing to search ; Practical search strategies / Kathleen DeLaurenti and Andrea I. Copland ; Research : an expert panel / Kathleen DeLaurenti -- Copyright essentials. Copyright basics ; Copyright exceptions ; Copyright : an expert panel / Kathleen DeLaurenti -- Publishing practices. Publishing and accessing information ; Managing your creative works ; Publishing : an expert panel ; Coda : artificial intelligence / Kathleen DeLaurenti.
Kohn on music licensing / Bob Kohn. New York, NY : Wolters Kluwer, [2019]. Music Library, Reference Collection, Call No: KF3035 .K64 2019 (location) Non-Circulating ; lxxxii, 1748 pages : forms ; 24 cm + 1 CD-ROM (4 3/4 in.). CD-ROM includes 177 forms in either MS Word or PDF format. CD-ROM requires computer with compatible disc drive, and document readers capable of opening MS Word and PDF formats. [The Music/Media Library can loan external disc drives for computers on a limited basis.] Introduction : the music business, its past and future -- The art of music publishing -- Songwriter agreements -- Co-publishing and administration agreements -- International sub-publishing -- The split copyright syndrome -- The language of music licensing -- Formalities of music licensing -- Duration of copyright, assignments of copyright, and licenses -- Basic considerations in music licensing -- The art of granting and clearing music licenses -- Licensing music in print and digital print (print licenses) -- Licensing music in sound recordings (mechanical licenses) -- Licensing music in background music services, digital jukeboxes, server copies, and other commercial reproductions (electrical transcription licenses) -- Licensing music in audiovisual works (synchronization licenses) -- The user-generated content phenomenon -- Old licenses, new uses -- Licensing music in live and recorded public performances (public performance licenses) -- The grand rights controversy -- Licensing music in television, radio, print, and internet advertising -- Licenses for music boxes, consumer musical products, and other merchandise -- Licensing music in videogames, other new media, multimedia devices, and online versions -- Licensing of sound recordings (master use licenses, digital downloading and digital audio transmissions) -- The digital sampling controversy -- The fair use controversy -- Typical license fees.
The Musician’s Business and Legal Guide / compiled and edited by Mark Halloran ; a presentation of the Beverly Hills Bar Association Committee for the Arts. New York ; London : Routledge, 2017. Music Library, Reference Collection, Call No: ML3790 .M84 2017] Non-circulating. Getting started : music as a business -- Entertainment group names : selection and protection / Stephen Bigger -- Business entities / Edward (Ned) R. Hearn -- How to set up a money deal for your music project / Edward (Ned) R. Hearn -- Music attorneys / Mark Halloran -- Protecting your compositions -- Music copyright : a search for certainty / Mark Halloran -- Sampling / Greg "Skins" Victoroff -- Collaborator/songwriter agreements / Mark Halloran and Edward (Ned) R. Hearn -- Digital downloads and streaming : copyright and distribution issues / Edward (Ned) R. Hearn -- Youtube music / Mark Halloran and Edward (Ned) R. Hearn -- International copyright / E. Scott Johnson, esq -- Music publishing -- Performing rights organizations in the United States : an overview / Mark Halloran and Diane Rapaport -- Music publishing / Neville L. Johnson and Bernard M. Resnick -- Performing : managers and agents -- What a manager does / Alfred Schlesinger -- Analysis of a personal management agreement / Neville L. Johnson and Bernard M. Resnick -- Talent agents : new thinking on an old business / Matthew Burrows and Kelly Weiss -- Club contracts / Edward (Ned) R. Hearn -- TV talent competitions : the legacy of American idol / Mark Halloran and Thomas A. White -- Recording -- Independent record labels and record deals / Loren S. Wells -- Recording and distribution contracts with independent and major labels / Edward (Ned) R. Hearn -- Producer agreements are stupid / Daniel K. Stuart -- How 360 deals became necessary & how to negotiate them / Daniel K. Stuart -- Social media law for musicians / Stephanie Furgang Adwar -- Royalty statements : audits and lawsuits / Steven Ames Brown.
